Categories of all important awards in India:

Depending upon the category and area, the awards can be divided into below categories:

  1. Civilian Awards
  2. Military Awards
  3. Leadership Awards
  4. Literature Awards
  5. National sports Awards

All National awards in India in detail:

1.Civilian Awards

Civilian Awards are distributed to people for good work in fields such as art, literature and education, sports, medicine, social work, science and engineering, public affairs, civil service, trade and industry, etc. Indian civilian awards can be further categorized into following four types in the decreasing order of their value.

Bharat Ratna: It is the highest civilian award given by the Republic of India for the good work in the field of science, Arts, literature, sports etc. The awards were started in year 1954. A Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion is presented at the time of distribution of awards.

Padma Vibhushan: It is second highest civilian award and is given for exceptional and distinguished service.

Padma Bhushan: This award comes second in under the list of Padma Awards and is the third highest civilian award of of India given for distinguished service of a high order.

Padma Shri: The last and fourth highest civilian award in India is Padma Shri which is awarded for distinguished service.

2. Military Awards

Military Awards are awarded to defence persons for their extraordinary bravery and courage and to honour them for their distinguished services during times of war and peace.

These are further categorized into below types:

Wartime gallantry awards

Param Vir Chakra: it is the highest military award given. Before independence Victoria Cross was given by British government but later on Param Vir Chakra replaced it.

Scroll to Top