Name one branch or part of the government.

There are three branches of the federal government: Congress, the president, and the courts. Each branch has a special role. The Congress is called the legislative branch. Congress writes, debates, and makes laws. The president leads the executive branch. The president enforces the laws. The president also represents the United States to other countries. The courts are called the judicial branch. The courts explain laws. They decide if laws follow the Constitution. They also decide if people break laws. The three branches of the United States government are Congress, the president, and the courts.

Words in bold are English words you may not know. You can learn these words in the Word List

Question Asked in Exam :

Name one branch or part of the government*

Correct answers (choose one):

  • Congress
  • legislative
  • President
  • Executive
  • the courts
  • judicial

Explanation: The United States government is divided into three parts to ensure a separation of powers. The three branches work together to govern the country.

Scroll to Top