Who vetoes bills?

The president vetoes bills. The president has the power to stop a bill from becoming a law. The president can refuse to sign a bill that Congress approved. This is called a veto. The bill is sent back to Congress without the president’s signature. Congress can change the bill or vote again. If two-thirds of the House of Representatives and two-thirds of the Senate vote to override the veto, it becomes a law without the president’s signature. The president vetoes bills.

Words in bold are English words you may not know. You can learn these words in the Word List.

Question Asked in Exam :

Who vetoes bills?

Correct answer: The president

Explanation: Only the president has the power to veto a bill, meaning he or she can prevent a bill from going into effect.

Scroll to Top