SSC CHSL Notification 2023: Exam Pattern

The exam pattern of SSC CHSL 2023 is explained in the tables below. SSC CHSL 2023 comprises three Tiers. Tier-I is mainly screening exams and scoring also.

Tier Type Mode
Tier – I Objective Multiple Choice Computer-Based (online)
Tier – II Tier II will include the following three sections having two modules each Computer-Based (online)

The elaborated Exam Patterns of Tier I and Tier II of SSC CHSL 2023 Recruitment are given in the table below. Candidates need to know every bit of the exam pattern to prepare well for every section of the examination.

Tier Subject Number of
Time allowed
I General Intelligence and
25 50 60 Minutes (Total)
General Awareness 25 50
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
English Comprehension 25 50
Total 100 200

Note- In Tier-I, there will be a negative marking of 0.50 for each wrong answer.
After qualifying for Tier-I of the SSC CHSL 2023 Examination. Candidates have to appear for Tier II and Tier III. The Exam Pattern of SSC CHSL Tier-II and Tier III is explained in the table below.

Tier Mode of Examination Scheme of Examination Max. Marks Time Allowed
II Pen and Paper Mode Descriptive Paper in English or Hindi
(Writing of Essay/ Precis/ Letter/ Application etc.)
100 60 minutes
III Computer Proficiency/
Skill Test
Proficiency in Word Processing, Spreadsheets and
Generation of Slides and Typing Test
No Marks Not mentioned

Students must note down that Tier II is scoring and qualifying in nature. You have to do well in all the Tiers of the SSC CHSL Examination.

Scroll to Top